In the beginning, New Jersey was not one colony but two. It was divided into East and West Jersey, a division which roughly corresponds to our modern distinction of North Jersey and South Jersey. West Jersey had a strong Quaker influence which can be seen in the group of laws the new colony adopted in 1677 known as the West Jersey Concessions.

The West Jersey Concessions